Posted by: wrmcnutt | November 16, 2010

Girl on the Street – As Opposed to a Street Walker


I met a pretty girl on the street the other days.  I was in Washington DC on business, and was on my way back to my hotel after a solitary dinner.  Now, meeting pretty women on the street is an unusual experience for me.  Despite what you may have heard, I don’t flirt with every woman who crosses my path, but this was a special case.  It was a goodly distance from the Metro to my hotel.

As I walked, I pulled alongside a pair of young ladies who were chatting as they were walking along the street.  My pace was only slightly faster than theirs, and I overheard some of their conversation as we walked.  One girl spoke about like you would expect someone who was carrying on a private conversation in a public place to speak:  in a mutter that allowed an occasional clear word to escape.  She sounded exactly like any one of a thousand other people I’d passed on the street in the past half hour.  The other girl, however, stood out.

Her voice cut through the crowd noise with a clarity and purity that was remarkable.  She sounded positive, up beat, and friendly.  She’d apparently had a dinner date the night before, and this was the post-mortem discussion.  The couple had met at the Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert’s Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear, a couple of days before, and the young man had asked her out.  He was going home the next day, but “I wasn’t doing anything else, so what the hell.”  Apparently the liaison did not turn out well.  While he showed up with flowers, this is not appropriate on a first date.  Then during the meal, he “went all weird on her.”

At this point I adjusted my pace a little.  The two ladies were going my way, and at almost the same speed, so I was able to make only a minor adjustment to my stride and continued to listen. I mean, after all, this was getting interesting.

She went on: “So that’s it for my life at the moment.  No prospects, and no prospects on the horizon . . .”

It was at this point that her companion said the only thing I heard clearly all night.  “Well, that’s you you know.  I mean, you just meet guys everywhere, and for no reason!”

“I know,” said the first girl. “I don’t understand it.  I mean there was this guy at the rally, and then that other guy at the mall last week.  And remember that one from the grocery store . . .  It’s just me, and I don’t get it . . .”

I couldn’t help myself.  With no warning, I turned around, made eye contact, and started walking backwards. “Well,” sez I, “for starters, your voice carries.  You can be heard clearly, without shouting, from fifteen feet away on a crowded city street.  Second, even when you’re complaining, your voice presents a positive, upbeat energy that draws the eye.   And third, once the eye is drawn, you’re really very pretty.”

The both laughed, and I continued.  “In point of fact, I’d be asking for your number myself, right now, if I wasn’t A) from out of town and B) married.  So I’m afraid I’d be wasting your time twice over.

They laughed again.

“But I wouldn’t worry about your current lack of prospects.  Continue being yourself, and the prospects will continue to line up.”

The I tipped my hat, turned on my heel, and vanished into the night, my duster swirling dramatically about my legs.

Two minutes later, I realized that I was going the wrong way and had to return to them to ask for directions to Massachusetts Avenue.

Dang – I had wasting a good exit.

Responses

  1. This was kind of sweet! Did you really tip your hat and turn your heel?

    -Lucky

    • Oh – absolutely. And then I really blew my mysterious exit into the night by having to go back and ask for directions.

  2. Haha, don’t you hate it when that happens?

    It seems like a scene from a movie until….

    -L

  3. You did not waste a good exit – you employed a perfectly good opportunity to speak with a pretty lady one more time without coming across as a slob. 😉

  4. Unsolicited comment like that from stranger are more desired sometimes than from close friends.. as the observations are not tinted by the friendship.

  5. what a great encounter.

    and I would not have gone back to them for directions. I would have hidden on a side street and asked someone else. But then, I’m all shy and stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

