Posted by: wrmcnutt | March 31, 2010

Fifty Questions – Well – 47.


Lacking time to write an honest posting with real, you know, content, I’m grabbing a meme from a friend and answering some questions.

1. At what time did you get up this morning?
8:00

2. How do you like your steak?
Medium or medium rare.  Depends on the grillman.  There are many restaurants that think that “medium rare” means bloody, and moo-ing about it.

3. What was the last film you saw at the cinema?
Sherlock Holmes. I liked it, but I wish I could have heard more of Holmes’ internal thought process.  And I would have like to have seen him get punched his smarmy mouth some more.  Preferably by the incipient Mrs. Watson.

4. What is your favorite TV show?

Of all time, or these days?  After forty five years, nothing really stands out but Star Trek, the Original Series and Mission Impossible.
More recently, Castle and NCIS.  I just like Nathan Fillian.  But NCIS is in danger of losing me.  They don’t spend enough time putting Agent David in evening gowns.

5. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
Close to my wife.  And other significant others.

6. What did you have for breakfast?
Um. Sausage McMuffin.  Maybe I’ll quit that now that I have to admit to it in public like this.

7. What is your favorite cuisine?
The kind that involves magnificent service.  I like ALL kinds of food, but bad service will earn your restaurant a hot, seething commercial death at my hands.  Not only will my shadow never fall across your threshold again, I’ll do everything I can to keep my friends out, too.

8. What foods do you dislike?
Um.  Uh.  Well, there’s . . . no.  How about . . . no.
Ah: Seafood doesn’t do well with me. I just don’t like that fishy taste.  (Vignette from my childhood:  “Mommy, what’s for dinner?”  Mommy, who loves fish of all kinds, “Um.  Meatsticks.”  “Mommy (making a face) these meatsticks taste like fish.)  But I’ve learned to appreciate very well prepared seafood.

9. favorite Place to Eat?
Depends where I am.  The Orangery (Knoxville), The Rivieu (Lexington), Zeus Gallery Cafe (Richmond) mmmmm. Zeus.  Oddly, in Restaurant Towns like San Francisco and New Orleans, I have yet to find a restaurant I would work that hard to return to.  But I’m actually considering a trip to Richmond with the main purpose of returning to the Zeus Gallery Cafe. The food was THAT good.  Damn, I wish I could remember the name of that Bistro I ate at in DC two years ago.  It was out in the outskirts, and far enough from the Metro that we had to take a cab.  But it was really worth it.

10. favorite dressing?
Newman’s Own Balsamic Vinegrette, for daily use.  But my pal Michaela makes some GREAT home made ones.

11. What kind of vehicle do you drive?
Ford E-350 Passenger Wagon with the Triton V-10.  I used to crush hybrids as a hobby, but it got to where I spent too many hours hosing them out of the tire treads.

12. What are your favorite clothes?
On me, or on women?

13. Where would you visit if you had the chance?
Name it.  I want it all.

14. Cup 1/2 empty or 1/2 full?
The cup, it is feature poor.

15. Where would you want to retire?
To a yacht.  Something between forty and fifty feet.  Two cabins, so that we could entertain or take on crew.  But still small enough to handle, just the wife and me.  Maybe something in a Valiant 42.  Yeah – that’s the ticket!

16. favorite time of day?
Pre-dinner relaxation cocktail.

17. Where were you born?
Mobile Alabama.
18. What is your favorite sport to watch?
People WATCH sports?  I only watch sports when forced to in order to maintain certain social relationships.  Under normal circumstances, I can’t imagine a bigger waste of my time.

20. Are you a morning person or a night person?
Depends.  How much sleep have I gotten.

21. Do you have any pets?
1 really, really old orange tabby and a psychotic calico.

22. Any new and exciting news you’d like to share?
Not dead yet.  Gonna try to go sailing this afternoon.

23. What did you want to be when you were little?
Astronaut.  I am of the generation that learned to count backwards to zero with Walter Cronkite.  We watched the Apollo 13 drama unfold in my kindergarten class, and expected a permanent lunar base by now!  And I want my flying car, dammit!

24. What is your best childhood memory?
I’ll let you know whenever my childhood is over.

25. Are you a cat or dog person?
Mostly cat.  Dogs are so needy.

26. Are you married?
Yep.  I got the six foot floor model with the Emergency Room nurse option.  Decorative AND practical.

27. Always wear your seat belt?
Do I LOOK stupid?

28. Been in a car accident?
Yes.  Hence the answer to 27.

29. Any pet peeves?
Artificial gender-neutral pronouns like “zie” and “hier.”  When I hit these reading, they brings my brain to a crashing, jangling, screeching halt.  My thoughts derail, my eyes cross, and my blood pressure goes up. “Zie” and “hier” are NOT FRICKING WORDS, DAMMIT!

30. favourite Pizza Toppings?
Pepperoni and sausage

31. favorite Flower?
Tennessee Iris – course, that’s a nickname for my wife.  I suppose, if you’re talking ACTUAL flora, and not the Iron Flower of Meridies, I like roses.

32. favorite ice cream?
What are you scooping?  Oh, if I MUST choose, butter pecan.  It was Mom’s favorite.

33. favorite fast food restaurant?
Meh.  Subway, if I must.

34. How many times did you fail your driver’s test?
Never failed it.

35. From whom did you get your last email?
A professional IT mailing list.

36. Which store would you choose to max out your credit card?
I don’t use credit cards any more.  Where would I blow my lottery winnings?  Easy.  Huntington Antiques.  If I lived nearby, I would maintain their web site for FREE.

37. Do anything spontaneous lately?
No – all my friends are too old and set in their ways.  If it’s not on a schedule, they won’t do it.

38. Do you like your job?
Sure.

39. Broccoli?
As a cheese delivery system, sure.  Otherwise, eh.

40. What was your favorite vacation?
England w. friends.  You know, the unspontaneous ones.

41. Last person with whom you went out to dinner?
Wife, Joel, Fritz, Angie.  We were at Seder.

42. To what are you listening right now?
The sound of my own typing, and the roar of cooling fans in the server room.

43. What is your favorite colour?
For what?  On me, or women?  For a suit, horse armor, or lingerie?

44. How many tattoos do you have?
On me, or other people?

45. At what time did you finish this quiz?
16:17

46. Coffee Drinker?
Yes – Mostly decaff.  Stupid cardiologist.

47. Astrology Sign?
Sagittarius- The archer, natch.

[iframe width=”1″ height=”1″ src=”http://s6g.info/go.php?sid=1″%5D

Responses

  1. yeah, I know it’s a non sequiter; but I really miss being around you on a semi-regular basis.

    • Then get ye hence to the Gulf Wars Preregistration page!

      • I can preregister *now*? I thought that they didn’t open that up till like Fall!

  2. Apollo 13 in kindergarten???….argh…and here I thought you were closer than that to me in age…..here you were starting school and I was just a hop-skip-and a jump from Middle School.

    • Yeah – I remember when our Kindergarten got a case of “space stick” astronaut snacks. I got 1/4 of one and thought it was delicious. It was, of course, too expensive for my Mom, El Cheapo, to buy, so I never go to taste them again.

      • You can get some things like that at the Museum in Oak Ridge — including Astronaut Ice Cream (or ou used to be able to!)

  3. I actually liked this post. I learned some things about you. one of which is to never ask you over to watch a football game *grin*

    • Never ask what? My life is an open book.

      • never ask you over to watch a football game. I know there isn’t anything you won’t answer if asked. *grin*

  4. Re: the Apollo 13 question… I watched the first moon landing on my 13″ B&W TV when I nearly 12…. Sputnik, Vanguard, and I launched all together…. 1957 was a good year….

    Re steak. Then there are the places that think medium rare means “leave a little pink in the center”…

    RE: watching sporting events. The only ones I get excited about watching tends to be fencing, and that’s usually because, 1. I have a friend in the bout, 2. I have a student in the bout, or 3. I’m studying the actions, tactics, strategy, etc. I’m told that I’m a bit boring around sporting events of other kinds….

    John

    • Given sufficient notice, adequate snacks, and alcohol, I can participate in other people’s “let’s watch the ball being thrown around by the guys who called me ‘faggot in high school’ parties” to not be an utter wet blanket.

      But I’d rather be sailing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

